History & Background

Past President Dr. Ram Baran Yadav

First President Dr. Ram Baran Yadav

Nepal’s presidential system is relatively new, going back less than a decade to 2008. The country has traditionally had a monarchy, with the king serving as head of state. Nepal became a constitutional monarchy in 1990. Following the mandate of historic movement for restoration of democracy, the People’s Movement of 2006, the Interim Constitution 2007 was adopted which removed all powers of the King and paved the way towards the establishment of the republican system of governance. On 28 May 2008, Nepal’s elected Constituent Assembly duly and formally abolished the 247 years system of monarchy. Dr. Ram Baran Yadav was elected as the first President of the Republic of Nepal by the Constituent Assembly which served concurrently as Parliament. Rt. Hon’ble President Bidya Devi Bhandari is the second President of the republic and the first President elected by Parliament after the promulgation of the Constitution in 2015.

As per the Constitution of Nepal 2015, President is the Head of the State. As the protector and patron of the Constitution, the primary responsibility of the President is to promote national unity of Nepal and ensure compliance and protection of the Constitution.


Present President Bidya Devi Bhandari

Present President Bidya Devi Bhandar